Skip to main content

New Irish Works

New Irish Works
Published by PhotoIreland Foundation


20 softcover publications in a green cloth-bound case
225 x 150 x 100 mm.

Selected by an international panel of 23 professionals, New Irish Works brings you a selection of 20 projects and 20 photographers representing the diverse range of practices coming from Ireland. New Irish Works 2016 is a year long project of 10 presentations and 20 publications that aims to highlight the great moment Irish Photography is experiencing.

The artists selected are Ailbhe Ní Bhriain, Aisling McCoy, Caitriona Dunnett, Dara McGrath, Daragh Soden, David Thomas Smith, Eanna de Freine, Emer Gillespie, Enda Bowe, Jan McCullough, Jill Quigley, Kate Nolan, Mandy O’Neill, Matthew Thompson, Miriam O’Connor, Noel Bowler, Robert McCormack, Roseanne Lynch, Shane Lynam, and Yvette Monahan.

About New Irish Works
In 2013, New Irish Works presented a selection of 25 projects by photographers based in Ireland drawn from an open call. It is still today a solid representation of the growing diversity of practices on the island. 2016 presented an updated selection of contemporary Irish photographers, selected by an international panel. The panel consisted of: Alejandro Castellote, Ángel Luis González Fernández, Ângela Ferreira, Azu Nwagbogu, Claire Monneraye, Clara de Tezanos, Elsa Modin, Heidi Romano, Jörg Colberg, Karen McQuaid, Kim Knoppers, Lars Boering, Louise Clements, Maira Dudareva, María García Yelo, Martino Marangoni, Miranda Driscoll, Moritz Neumüller, Peggy Sue Amison, Seán Kissane, Stacey Baker, and Yumi Goto.